A Secret Garden – The Hobbs Fern Sanctuary

I stumbled on the website of the New England Wild Flower Society the other day and was pleased to discover that they have a few sanctuaries of their own to add to my list of places to visit.  I had already visited the Eshqua Bog as it was on the Nature Conservancy’s list as well (it seems that every non-profit that has a hand in its preservation wants to take credit), but had never heard of the Hobbs Fern Sanctuary, which is within an hour’s drive of home.  So on a hot Sunday in June, Carol and I paid it a visit.IMG_0811 IMG_0839 IMG_0838 IMG_0843I know virtually nothing about ferns other than that there are lots of them growing pretty much everywhere.  Maybe some day I’ll take the trouble to learn the names of them all … but not today.  The directions on the website were pretty clear and fortunately there is a sign to confirm that you are really here.  A path led into the woods where I could see that I was following an old road by the mossy stone walls on both sides.  An occasional sign hinted that there are some developed trails but I couldn’t find a map anywhere, either online or at the sanctuary itself.  Maybe that’s something they’ll correct in the future because without one it’s hard to know where to spend your time (or how much time to allocate for the visit).IMG_0815Glancing upwards momentarily while looking down at all the ferns, we were lucky enough to catch sight of this terrific barred owl looking down at us.  Who cooks for you my friend?IMG_0831IMG_0834We did see a sign for a Ridge Loop so we took that.  Everything was so green!  I especially liked the moss growing on the large boulders of milky quartz tumbling out of the hillside.  I’ll make a point of returning, especially if I can get a map to find my way around.  Maybe I’ll learn those fern names after all!  This is a lovely place to start.  Here are a few more images of the sanctuary from this, my first visit.  Happy travels!IMG_0823 IMG_0822 IMG_0821 IMG_0835

End of blog.  Paging down may expose you to ads.

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

3 responses to “A Secret Garden – The Hobbs Fern Sanctuary

  1. Thanks for letting me know. The sanctuary is a bit of a jaunt to get to from the southern part of the state but is wonderfully peaceful. I’ve enjoyed all the sites owned by the New England Wild Flower Society that I’ve been able to get to. I’m sure you will too. If you go, follow the directions on the web site very carefully.

  2. Pingback: White Rocks and Ferns | Outdoor Adventures·

Leave a Reply

