Pick Your Peak – Pemigewasset’s Indian Head

IMG_5969If you’re looking for an easy hike, the brochure for Franconia Notch State Park recommends two easy peak hikes: Artists Bluff and Mt. Pemigewasset (Indian Head).  Being married to an artist, I know Artists Bluff well and it rightly deserves top billing.  But I’d never climbed Pemigewasset before so in late October with still a little color in the trees, I decided to give it a try.

Still some late NH colors

Still some late NH colors

The map shows two trails to the top so I decided to make a loop of it: ascend from the south, descend towards the east and then follow the highway back to my starting point.

View south from peak of Mt. Pemigewasset

View south from peak of Mt. Pemigewasset

Neither trail was very difficult but there was decidedly less bang for your buck than you get at Artists Bluff.  Views to the south were nice but none of the promised views of the notch were to be found.IMG_5973I then did something else I’ve never done before.  I paid my buck or so for a token permitting me to climb the tower at the Indian Head Resort back on the highway.  Check out that ancient well-used turnstile.

The tower at Indian Head Resort

The tower at Indian Head Resort

Although I’d rather be promoting the joys of the natural world, the views from the tower made the hike more enjoyable.

View of Indian Head from the tower

View of Indian Head from the tower

Mt. Pemigewasset gets its alternate name from the exposed rocks near the summit that, with some imagination, appear to resemble you-know-what.  If you click on the photo above and expand it you might just be able to pick it out.

Towards Franconia Notch

Towards Franconia Notch

The views north towards the notch were the more rewarding in my opinion but on a beautiful day such as this, who am I to quibble?  It’s ALL good.

Oh, and if you were to ask my opinion and you only had time to do one hike in Franconia Notch, I’d climb the tower to see the Indian’s Head but then head for Artists Bluff.  Happy travels!

End of blog.  Paging down may expose you to ads.

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

Leave a Reply

