If You Don’t Like the Weather in New Hampshire…

…wait a minute.

If the saying was ever true, today was the day.

The weather report said it would be cloudy so I wasn’t really prepared when it started to snow.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.  Having been feeling under the weather all week I was eager to get out and hike, it hardly mattered where.  So I did a loop on Mt. Cube in Orford that promised all my favorites: nice views, waterfalls, trails I haven’t hiked before, and maybe a cellar hole or two.IMG_7973Sure enough, following an old road to Quinttown, I found two more cellar holes to add to my list.  Someday I’ll have to publish that.  The picture above is the one still in particularly good shape.IMG_7980Next, from Quinttown, catch the Appalachian Trail, here called the Kodak Trail as it ascends Mt. Cube from the south.20160515_163028First stop is Eastman Ledges with beautiful views south towards Quinttown.  But what’s this?  Now it’s sleeting.  I duck for cover but it stops as quickly as it started.20160515_164736 Now the trail gets pretty.  Turns out the south side of Mt. Cube is carpeted with trout lilies.  The above picture gives you some idea; all the green you see are trout lily plants.  This wasn’t true of the west side, which had hardly any, so I presume it’s either the sun or the soil that makes the difference.IMG_7984Because of the clouds and rain the flowers weren’t willing to open.  They’ll be fantastic later this week when the sun is out.IMG_7981Here’s a trillium that’s a little different.  It’s decided to have four petals and leaves instead of three.  Does that make it a quadrillium?  If four-leaved clovers are lucky maybe this one is too.

It keeps looking like there will be a break in the clouds.  Maybe I’ll get to the top and wait for a great sunset.20160515_182116But no, when I reach the top the wind picks up and it starts to snow…on May 15th.  I thought it might show in the picture above but I guess not, although you can still get an idea of the kind of day it was turning out to be.  It was actually in the 40s so there was no chance of the snow sticking to the ground but with the wind starting to howl I decided there was not going to be any sunset and I’d better get myself off this mountain quickly.IMG_7993So I scurried down the Cross-Rivendell Trail, being careful to not slip on the wet rocks, finishing my 7.5 mile loop and arriving at my car just in time to see a break in the clouds…and the sunset.

Naturally.

If you don’t like the weather… just wait a minute.

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

a

One response to “If You Don’t Like the Weather in New Hampshire…

  1. Pingback: The Steep Part – And What’s Beyond | The Park Explorer·

Leave a Reply

